Posted by: Kristi | May 12, 2010

Where has the time gone?!

Wow, it has been too long since our last post so I thought I would give you a quick update.  It has been almost three weeks since we arrived home with our precious Abby.  We have tried to keep her home as much as possible to start creating that bond with her.  We do venture out with the Baby Bjorn on and take a stroll around the block.  She loves being outside.

Abby’s stats:

*Feedings- 6 oz bottle every 3 hours.  The kids call her the “milkaholic”.  That is what was written on the bib she was wearing when we saw her at Hannah’s Hope.  They also laugh at the way she does her “milk dance” when she sees her bottle.  She flails her arms and legs and starts smacking her lips.  It is so cute.

*routine-   she wakes, eats, plays around then sleeps for about 30 minutes to an hour.  Repeat.

*Night-time-  she gets up one to two times a night for a quick snack and then falls right back to sleep.  I know it would be so great if she slept through the night but I don’t mind getting an extra chance to snuggle her sweetness.

*Personality-  you might be wondering if a 5 month old really has a personality, well she does and it is so fun.  She is so happy and full of smiles.  Her siblings can get her to laugh by talking to her or being silly for her.  She is quite ticklish.  She is now starting to really like to grab on to her toys.  We are just so in awe of her sweet, fun personality.

*She is teething.  Not fun.  Working on the bottom front teeth.  I can’t wait to see that smile.

*She has more chins now that we are home.  Seriously, she is getting some good rolls!  And those cheeks, oh my!

I find that she has made me a better mom.  I am cherishing all my kids in a new way.  Hannah, Elliot and Logan are just amazing with Abby.  They love to talk to her and get her to smile.  They have grown up so much.   They are so in love with their sister.

It is really amazing how God knits our families together.  Our journey had some bumps in it that were hard to work through at times but God has truly blessed us and I know why He called us to this place.  My heart is so full of joy and I give all praise to God for what he has done.

~Kristi

Responses

  1. Wonderful update!!!

  2. So great to hear more about her 🙂 Isn’t God great in how He works it all out? Love it!

  3. Oh my goodness Kristi…Absolutely beautiful all around. Thank you for the post…I cannot BELIEVE it has been 3 weeks already!

  4. I know what you mean about her making you a better mom. There have been so many things in my life that have been huge challenges and hurdles that have made me a better mom and wife. You are so much calmer now…that’s what I noticed…at peace…just like it’s supposed to be 🙂 I’m so happy for you! Hoping to get over there next week to see her and hang out before we move!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

