Posted by: Kristi | February 17, 2011

Counting my Blessings

So, as a stay at home mom there are always a million things to do.  Manage four kids, manage the house, cook, drive little people around…you get the picture.   I need to tell you about my day and how I honestly felt true joy as I attended to the tasks of the day.  Take a look.

*I did 5 loads of laundry.  That means that God has provided my family with clothing.

*I did 3 loads of dishes.  That means God has provided my family with an abundance of food.

*I dusted.  That means God has provided a home for my family.

*I cleaned up mud from the floor.  That means God gave us a warm day and a safe place for my kids to run around and play.

Do you see where I am going?  We get so weighed down by the day-to-day that we forget to see what we have been given.  Our lives are so richly blessed and we so often forget to give God the glory for the everyday stuff.  We are quick to praise Him when something big happens but what would it be like if we praised him for the stuff we take for granted. 

I am thankful that my eyes were open today.  However, my heart breaks for those without.  Tonight, I feel compelled to pray for those in need.   That they would know they are loved.  Would you join me in prayer tonight?  Before you fall asleep, would you just ask God to fill their hearts with comfort and love. 

Oh, and don’t forget to thank God for all He has given you!

love and blessings,

Kristi

Responses

  1. needed this today:)

  2. I’m going to try to do this more often–see things that might feel like a “task” or a “hassle” as a blessing. I think that would make Jesus really happy. Good attitude!

  3. LOVE your line of thinking. Very TRUE!!!! In our home if you attitude starts to smell you have to sing the Thank You Lord for _____ song :)

  4. I definitely needed this today, thank you!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

